The black horse

4.3
154 recensies
25 £ en minder
Gastropub

Populairste tags:

Geschikt voor de lunch
Geweldig voor buiten eten
Juweeltje in de wijk
Wat 154 mensen zeggen
Algehele beoordelingen en recensies
Alleen gasten die bij dit restaurant hebben gegeten, kunnen recensies schrijven
4.3op basis van recente beoordelingen
4.4
eten
4.5
bediening
4.3
sfeer
4.1
prijs-kwaliteit
Geluid · Redelijk rustig
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sorteer op
Filters
OT
OpenTable-lid
Oxford/Oxfordsh
1 recensie
Gegeten op 23 oktober 2021
Algeheel2eten2bediening5sfeer5

Family reunion after 18 months.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 28 oktober 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is unfortunate to see that you have not had a 5* experience with us on this occasion. We hope you can give us an opportunity to show you our usual high quality food. Josh

Melden
MM
MrsM
1 recensie
Gegeten op 3 oktober 2021
Algeheel4eten3bediening4sfeer4

Food was absolutely lovley apart from the ropey slices of beef, would have like a decent cut with Sunday dinner, grissle I can't abide.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 6 oktober 2021

Hello MrsM, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our chefs. It certainly isn't the norm that our meat are of a poor standard as we source high quality prime cuts locally. I hope you can give us another chance to show you how brilliant our Sunday lunches usually are. Josh

Melden
OT
OpenTable-lid
1 recensie
Gegeten op 24 september 2021
Algeheel2eten2bediening1sfeer3

Wasn’t expecting Octoberfest when booking on this app…no indication was given that this was the case and that there wouldn’t be an alternative menu. However, this wasn’t too much of a problem as the food was fair. But what was an issue was the female waitresses!! (Males we’re ok) I don’t think I’ve ever been in a pub where the service was so unfriendly! Absolutely appalling, all of the them…it costs nothing to smile. We shan’t be going back !!

The black horse
Gereageerd op 25 september 2021

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry that you felt that our team were unfriendly, I will pick this up with all involved in trainings. I can assure you this is not representative of our usual service at The Black Horse. We hope you can give us another chance to show you how brilliant we are. Thank you, Josh

Melden
VH
VictoriaH
Oxford/Oxfordsh
5 recensies
Gegeten op 15 september 2021
Algeheel3eten3bediening3sfeer3

The evening started well and the food was delicious. The service staff were personable. The only issue was the hour long wait between starters and mains and the fact that there was no communication during this time, to the point where when I asked where the mains were I was told " oh we're just really busy". Sorry that in my opinion is unacceptable especially as I booked an early table at 6.30pm to avoid usy times. Despite the extreme wait the food was good .. if we hadn't had to wait this would be a 5* review

The black horse
Gereageerd op 16 september 2021

Hello Victoria, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Firstly let me apologise for the wait yesterday between courses. Unfortunately the industry as a whole is struggling to find kitchen teams, leading to not having a fully staffed kitchen. That being said with most tables arriving at a similar time yesterday made wait times longer than usual. This wait time stems from us wanting to ensure every dish is perfect when it leaves the kitchen. We look forward to your future visit, Josh

Melden
CR
ChristineR
Londen
1 recensie
Gegeten op 12 september 2021
Algeheel5eten4bediening5sfeer5

Good food, friendly staff and outstanding service

The black horse
Gereageerd op 15 september 2021

Hello Christine, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all involved, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Josh

Melden
PC
PaulC
1 recensie
Gegeten op 12 september 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer5

We had a fantastic late lunch. Great atmosphere and food. But what made it was our host Emily. She was so polite and friendly. Just fantastic. Absolute credit to the team

The black horse
Gereageerd op 15 september 2021

Hello Paul, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I agree Emily is amazing! I will be sure to pass on your feedback to both Emily and our chefs. We look forward to your future visits. Josh

Melden
HS
HSGS
Londen
3 recensies
Gegeten op 10 september 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer5

Great food great service, highly recommend. Emily was very welcoming and knowledgeable.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 15 september 2021

Hello HSGS, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Emily and all involved. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Josh

Melden
ST
SallyT
Oxford/Oxfordsh
1 recensie
Gegeten op 8 september 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer5

Really enjoyed our visit to the pub. Food was scrumptious and presented beautifully. We were staying in the nearby park and were recommended to come down. We were made to feel so welcome and the team couldn’t have look after us better.

Oktoberfest was superb and so much fun. Staff all in outfits and decorations all over made us feel like we were somewhere far away from a village pub.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 15 september 2021

Hello Sally, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We when our guests reinforce our belief in how excellent our food is! I will be passing on your positive feedback to all of the team involved. We hope to see you on your future visits. Josh

Melden
HS
HSGS
Londen
4 recensies
Gegeten op 5 september 2021
Algeheel3eten3bediening2sfeer5

We have eaten here several times and never had a bad meal or poor service, however this time service was slow with a ‘take it or leave it’ attitude when I asked for my meat to be cooked medium rare rather than rare, when it eventually arrived our food was given to another table then given to us when they said it wasn’t what they had ordered, the food tasted as though it had been reheated, one meal was over cooked, very disappointed and very surprised with the whole experience however dessert was lovely. I have emailed pub directly and awaiting response.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 15 september 2021

Hello HSGS, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I can assure you these are not our usual standards of food or service at The Black Horse, which has been highlighted by your further visit and review above. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Josh

Melden
OT
OpenTable-lid
1 recensie
Gegeten op 5 september 2021
Algeheel3eten3bediening3sfeer4

Went to the Black Horse for Sunday lunch and ordered two x roast beef and one roast lamb. Sadly no-one asked how we liked the meat cooked ( well done or rare etc) and the roasts arrived to the chef’s perceived colour. The lamb was chewy and my guest couldn’t eat it, we mentioned this to the manager but the complaint was brushed aside.The beef was very pink and wouldn’t be to many peoples taste. Also two small slices for each portion was very disappointing. Came with parsnips and roast potatoes and a large Yorkshire pudding. There was also a side dish of cauliflower cheese , sweet potatoes plus green beans and broccoli. Couldn’t fault the vegetables and there was plenty of these. It was just the beef that was the inadequate portion size.
We had prawns as a starter and that was very good and presented beautifully. For desert we had 2 x crumbles and a creme brûlée and these were great too, both in content flavour and presentation.
The reason for going to the restaurant was for the Sunday Roasts and they disappointed. The service was slow and disjointed and again didn’t make us feel “ valued”.
Would we go back, maybe but it wouldn’t be our first choice.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 8 september 2021

Hello, Firstly let me apologise for your less than 5* experience you received on Sunday. I will one passing on all of your feedback regarding food to our head chef so we can get these rectified. Our beef is served rare on a Sunday with it being a joint. We are happy to cook it further but due to it being sliced can't offer cooking temperatures as we can with steaks. I can only apologise in regards to our service and will be holding trainings to assure this doesn't happen again in future.

Melden
OT
OpenTable-lid
1 recensie
Gegeten op 2 september 2021
Algeheel4eten5bediening4sfeer4

Staff were very attentive and the food was phenomenal, 1st class, will definitely return.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 5 september 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will pass on your kind comments to the team, we look forward to your future visits. Josh

Melden
FR
FrancesR
1 recensie
Gegeten op 1 september 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer5

Lovely pub, good selection of drinks. The food is absolutely delious! Staff are friendly too

The black horse
Gereageerd op 3 september 2021

Hello Frances, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our chefs and front of house team. We look forward to seeing you soon. Josh

Melden
NJ
NickyJ
1 recensie
Gegeten op 27 augustus 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer5

Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Service was at an appropriate pace and the food was delicious

The black horse
Gereageerd op 29 augustus 2021

Hello Nicky, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I will pass on your kind words to all involved. Josh

Melden
S
Spuds
1 recensie
Gegeten op 14 augustus 2021
Algeheel4eten2bediening5sfeer4

Lovely place in terms of the pub itself, great location and friendly staff. Attentive service, the let done was the food sadly. Spent a lot of money and the quality of the food didn’t live up to its descriptions in the menu. Hopefully we had a one off experience. I’d still recommend it on the basis of that.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 18 augustus 2021

Hello Spuds, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of the team involved! I will also be sure to pass on your comments to chef, we very regularly deliver a high standard of food. Which I am sure you will receive when you return. Kind Regards, Josh

Melden
LE
LESTERG
Oxford/Oxfordsh
7 recensies
Gegeten op 13 augustus 2021
Algeheel4eten5bediening4sfeer5

Great night out with friends

The black horse
Gereageerd op 18 augustus 2021

Hello Lester, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards, Josh

Melden
OT
OpenTable-lid
1 recensie
Gegeten op 13 augustus 2021
Algeheel4eten3bediening4sfeer4

Lovely staff, food definitely better than average but just missing the mark to say it’s very good. Great ambience and busy with local drinkers

The black horse
Gereageerd op 18 augustus 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to chef. We hope to see you again soon so we can show you how great our food really is! Kind Regards, Josh

Melden
LM
LandM
1 recensie
Gegeten op 22 juli 2021
Algeheel3eten4bediening2sfeer2

Although food was lovely we felt smothered by staff - plates cleared the second we finished before putting down cutlery down. The table behind us were asked 6 times if there food was ok and 4 times tried to clear table before finished. When asked what gin was available I was advised there is a whole shelf full so name one - when I did, she said, no don’t think so but didn’t check. Felt the staff were quiet but had no set routine of how to look after tables - were served by 4 different people who all asked us same thing on numerous occasions.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 24 juli 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry to see that you didn't get the high level of service we so regularly deliver. I will be sure to highlight your points with all involved. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Josh

Melden
k
karenb
1 recensie
Gegeten op 10 juli 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer5

Couldn’t fault anything. The food was exceptional and the service prompt and friendly

The black horse
Gereageerd op 14 juli 2021

Hello Karen, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will pass on your kind comments to all involved and we look forward to seeing you soon. Josh

Melden
KB
KevB
1 recensie
Gegeten op 8 juli 2021
Algeheel3eten3bediening5sfeer4

It was steak night so we decided to have the ribeye steaks which included a bottle of wine, the meal was ok but nothing out of the ordinary, the wine was a disappointment. Special mention for Juri who was great.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 10 juli 2021

Hello KevB, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will be sure to pass on your comments to all involved, it is unfortunate that you didn't enjoy the wine provided with steak night. We hope to see you again soon. Josh

Melden
PB
PeteBoro64
Newcastle en No
2 recensies
Gegeten op 27 juni 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer4

Made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived, the staff were very friendly and efficient. We were seated immediately and the service was swift. Two of our party of four opted for the Sunday lunch (one roast beef sirloin, one roasted lanb), one went for the Black Horse Burger and one for the Fresh Lobster. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals which were delicious. Only two of us had room for a desert and the sticky toffee pudding was excellent with a rum flavoured custard. Also worthy of mention was the good selection on the specials board including a variety of fish (bream, turbot etc.). Nice quiet atmosphere and would definitely recommend.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 30 juni 2021

Hello Pete, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our chefs and front of house team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Josh

Melden
LT
LizT
Londen
5 recensies
Gegeten op 25 juni 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer5

Couldn’t fault it. Excellent! Will definitely be going back!

The black horse
Gereageerd op 27 juni 2021

Hello Liz T, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We look forward to seeing you soon. Josh

Melden
NM
NigelM
Oxford/Oxfordsh
1 recensie
Gegeten op 18 juni 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer5

Great Gish and Triple Cooked Chips. Nicely presented on large platters. Always a friendly and welcoming service. A proper village pub.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 23 juni 2021

Hello Nigel, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team involved. We look forward to seeing you soon. Josh

Melden
OT
OpenTable-lid
Londen
1 recensie
Gegeten op 17 juni 2021
Algeheel4eten5bediening5sfeer3

Very good food

The black horse
Gereageerd op 23 juni 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We look forward to your future visits. Josh

Melden
YM
YvonneM
1 recensie
Gegeten op 12 juni 2021
Algeheel1eten1bediening2sfeer2

Waiting staff very friendly so that’s the plus the food not impressed at all ,had the rump of lamb with dauphinois the potatoes raw , called over to the manager he got a waiter to come and see us ,they took the plate and came back said chef sends apology then had the substitute meal of the duck dish ok nothing special not much flavour and tarragon mash not sure where the tarragon was !! my husband had the green Thai prawn and monkfish curry with jasmine rice , very watery hardly any prawns ,monkfish pieces in batter more like cod goujons ! Come on please it’s a Curry !! and yellow basmati rice not jasmine , mentioned to the waitress didn’t come back on that one about the rice ! No sign of the manager coming over he knew there was an issue these meals were £20 each so overpriced for very poor food they say this is a gastro pub dont think so ,we won’t be returning thought this would be convenient as at campsite next door ,you are better off going to millets farm shop down the road buying some truly lovely produce and cooking yourself you won’t be disappointed like we were at the Black horse

The black horse
Gereageerd op 17 juni 2021

Hello Yvonne, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. First let me apologise that you didn't have the usual high quality experience that we deliver day in day out. As our many other reviews show we provide a high level of dining experience and again i apologise that on rare occasions we don't quite get it right. We hope this does not deter you from giving us another chance in future so we can show our usual high standards of service and food. Josh

Melden
JC
JonC
1 recensie
Gegeten op 10 juni 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer5

Nice friendly English pub good food nice people great atmosphere

The black horse
Gereageerd op 12 juni 2021

Hello Jon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, the team and I look forward to your future visits. Josh

Melden
JS
JohnS
1 recensie
Gegeten op 5 juni 2021
Algeheel4eten5bediening5sfeer4

Had a drink outside first, lovely beer garden. Booked a table inside which was very quiet as it was a sunny evening and everyone was out doors. Excellent service and the food was delicious. Highly recommended

The black horse
Gereageerd op 9 juni 2021

Hello John, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all those involved. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Josh

Melden
K
Kaur
1 recensie
Gegeten op 5 juni 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer5

Great vibe, awesome friendly staff & declious tasty food everytime - what's not to love.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 9 juni 2021

Hello Kaur, Thank you for taking the time leave us a review, we look forward to your future visits. Josh

Melden
JR
JennyR
Londen
4 recensies
Gegeten op 4 juni 2021
Algeheel4eten4bediening5sfeer4

We were looking for a small, light lunch, and we weren’t disappointed. The food was lovely- asparagus and duck egg scotch egg with Hollandaise with chunky chips. Really delicious!
Very attentive service despite big groups arriving in the garden. We were near a speaker making conversation a little difficult when we arrived , but a member of staff immediately offered to turn the volume down.
Will definitely come back!

The black horse
Gereageerd op 5 juni 2021

Hello Jenny, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. The asparagus dish is also a personal favourite so it's great to see how much you loved it too. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all involved. Josh

Melden
OT
OpenTable-lid
1 recensie
Gegeten op 3 juni 2021
Algeheel4eten4bediening5sfeer3

On holiday in campsite next door. Special treat to have a meal out. Food was very nice, service was good. A touch pricey maybe but quality was there to support the pricing.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 5 juni 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all involved our prices may be a little high than our competitors due to our high quality produce and skilled teams. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Josh

Melden
JC
JamesC
Londen
1 recensie
Gegeten op 3 juni 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer5

Second meal at the Black Horse in the space of three days. Couldn’t fault either visit. This is what a proper country gastropub should aim for. Fantastic friendly service, delicious food that any high end restaurant would be proud of and great beer! 10 out of 10

The black horse
Gereageerd op 5 juni 2021

Hello James, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We love to hear when our guests have had a fantastic time! I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all involved and we look forward to your future visits. Josh

Melden
R
Rainbow
Oxford/Oxfordsh
2 recensies
Gegeten op 3 juni 2021
Algeheel3eten3bediening4sfeer4

We ordered bread with garlic butter and olive oil as a starter. That was really nice. We both had the duck. The portion was small; a small duck breast, little mash patatoes and stem broccoli.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 5 juni 2021

Hello Rainbow, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to chef with regards to portion sizes. We hope to see you again soon. Josh

Melden
DM
DoMo
Oxford/Oxfordsh
1 recensie
Gegeten op 31 mei 2021
Algeheel4eten4bediening4sfeer4

Lovely terrace for sunny days, the burgers were good, meat juicy and well cooked, kids happy and can run a bit around the garden, lovely.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 5 juni 2021

Hello DoMo, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will pass on your kind words to chef and the rest of the team. Josh

Melden
AD
AndrewD
1 recensie
Gegeten op 30 mei 2021
Algeheel4eten4bediening5sfeer4

Good Food & Beer, Great Staff & Service. What more can you want !

The black horse
Gereageerd op 5 juni 2021

Hello Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I will pass on your kind comments to all involved. Josh

Melden
IL
IsabelL
Oxford/Oxfordsh
2 recensies
Gegeten op 29 mei 2021
Algeheel5eten4bediening5sfeer5

Lovely pub and extremely good service.
The food was excellent.
There was a good choice of starters and main courses and also some vegetarian and vegan options.
The atmosphere was lovely, specially after lockdown.
We are very lucky to have such a great place in Standlake! I thoroughly recommend it.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 5 juni 2021

Hello Isabel, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is always a pleasure when you visit, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team. Josh

Melden
OT
OpenTable-lid
Hampshire
1 recensie
Gegeten op 29 mei 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer4

Staff were pleasant. Food was top notch worth the extra. Nice decor good clean w/c’s. Only thing to be improved on was the garden furniture. Highly recommend 😋

The black horse
Gereageerd op 5 juni 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Josh

Melden
S
Suek
Oxford/Oxfordsh
1 recensie
Gegeten op 28 mei 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer5

Food was very well cooked and prepared ands delicious.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 5 juni 2021

Hello Suek, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Ill will pass on your praise to our chefs. Josh

Melden
HS
HSGS
Londen
4 recensies
Gegeten op 27 mei 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer5

Amazing, beautifully cooked food, attentive staff, great choice of drinks.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 5 juni 2021

Hello HCGS, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. The team and I look forward to seeing you soon. Josh

Melden
KG
KateG
1 recensie
Gegeten op 26 mei 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer5

Lovely evening- staff were very helpful and dry and food was really lovely- had a bottle of lovely red thrown in with our steaks!!! What more could you want? Would definitely be going back

The black horse
Gereageerd op 30 mei 2021

Hello Kate, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will pass on the feedback to all involved we look forward to seeing you soon. Josh

Melden
SJ
SJDlovesfood
Londen
6 recensies
Gegeten op 23 mei 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer5

Great meal, service and atmosphere as usual.

The black horse
Gereageerd op 26 mei 2021

Hello SJDlovesfood, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to seeing you soon. Josh

Melden
PF
PaulF
Oxford/Oxfordsh
1 recensie
Gegeten op 23 mei 2021
Algeheel5eten5bediening5sfeer5

The Black horse has become our favourite place for Sunday lunch. The food and staff are always fantastic. There is always a great atmosphere 😀

The black horse
Gereageerd op 26 mei 2021

Hello Paul, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to all involved. We hope to see you again in the future. Josh

Melden

Veelgestelde vragen

The black horse biedt afhaalmaaltijden die u kunt bestellen door het restaurant te bellen op 01865 300307.

The black horse heeft 4.3 sterren ontvangen door 154 OpenTable-gasten.

Normaalgesproken kun je inderdaad bij dit restaurant reserveren door de datum, tijd en groepsgrootte op OpenTable te kiezen. Vanwege lokale maatregelen is reserveren bij dit restaurant misschien niet mogelijk.